Herrnhut – a small town but world class

Not merely two hours, but two whole days


Herrnhut is situated in the heart of lovely Upper Lusatia. With a population of only 5,000, it can nonetheless look back on a turbulent history. Founded in 1722 by descendants of the old Unity of the Brethren, the town has since stood literally “under the care (‘Hut’) of the Lord (‘Herr’)”. The place of origin of the worldwide Unitas Fratrum, where each year the Daily Watchwords are drawn, has remained a living heritage up to the present, where you can see and feel its centuries-old history in various establishments and places of interest around town.


Stammhaus - since 1897


The “Stammhaus” of Herrnhuter Sterne GmbH combines a historical setting with traditional handicrafts. Since 1897, Herrnhuter Sterne have been available for purchase at the head office, which blends traditional and modern styles with a new design and concept. A very special sort of experience.
 
Visit our head office - since 1897:
Löbauer Straße 21 in Herrnhut:
Mon – Fri 8 am – 7 pm . Sat 8 am – 12 noon

more information


Herrnhut Ethnological Museum

The theme of the Ethnological Museum is the worldwide missionary work of the Moravian Church. An extensive collection of exhibits shows what life and culture was like in the former mission territories.
 
Visit the Ethnological Museum:
Goethestraße 1 in Herrnhut: Tue - Sun and on all holidays 9 am – 5 pm. Close Mondays


to the website


Herrnhut Museum of Local History


Immerse yourself in the Biedermeier period! At the Museum of Local History, you will find three fully furnished rooms kept in the style of that era, as well as a great deal of information on local history and on the history of the Moravian Church. The museum’s Baroque garden, with its extraordinary summer house built in 1770, is also well worth a visit.
 
Visit the Museum of Local History:
Comeniusstraße 6 in Herrnhut: Tue – Fri 9 am – 5 pm. Sat-Sun and holidays 10am - 12 noon and 1 pm – 5 pm


www.herrnhut.de


Church hall and Moravian Church exhibition


Herrnhut is where the Moravian Church was born. Discover the history and present-day fascination of this captivating place and learn more about “The Watchwords – God’s Word of the Day”.
 
Visit the church hall with the exhibition “From Herrnhut Out Into the World”:
Zinzendorfplatz in Herrnhut: Information on present day and age: Mon – Sun 8 am -6 pm Historical part of the exhibition: Mon – Fri 9 am – 3 pm . Sat 2 pm – 4 pm Sun 10:30 am – 12 noon


www.herrnhuter.de



Other destinations for excursions in Herrnhut are, for instance, the graveyard with the Altan watchtower, the sculpture path, as well as as the forest swimming pool and the minigolf course. You can obtain all additional information from the tourist information centre in Herrnhut.
 
Herrnhut Tourist Information Centre
Comeniusstraße 6
02747 Herrnhut
Tel.: 035873 2288
E-mail: tourismus@herrnhut.de
 
Opening hours:
Mon 9 pm – 3:30 pm
Tue – Fri 9 am – 5 pm
Sat – Sun and holidays 10 am – 12 noon and 1 pm – 5 pm


Foto: Rene Pech
Foto: Markus Baltkow
Foto: Thomas Glaubitz

Herrnhut – a part of Zittau Mountains National Park

Lovely views and rich in culture

Discovering the exceptional is easy in Zittau Mountains National Park. In the midst of unspoiled nature and along the blue ribbon of the Mandau river stretches a 1000-year-old cultivated landscape with an amiable flair, part Bohemian, part Saxon. Characteristic of the national park is the harmony of the Zittau Mountains, Lake Olbersdorf, the Baroque city of Zittau and the charming towns of Löbau, Herrnhut, Ostritz, as well as idyllic villages with their hallmark half-timbered houses in the Upper Lusatian style.

 

When you visit this easternmost part of the Central German Uplands, you will be overwhelmed by the enchanting landscape.


You can obtain more information on excursion destinations, places of interest and hotels from the Zittau Mountains National Park Tourist Centre
 
Tourismuszentrum Naturpark Zittauer Gebirge
Markt 1 
02763 Zittau
 
Tel: +49 (0) 3583 - 752-200
tourismuszentrum@zittauer-gebirge.com


 
Opening hours:
Mon – Fri 9 am – 6 pm
Sat 9 am – 1 pm
Sun (May - October) 10 am – 12 noon

Herrnhut – kleine Stadt von Welt

nicht nur 2 Stunden sondern 2 Tage


Herrnhut liegt im Herzen der schönen Oberlausitz. Mit rund 5.000 Einwohnern kann auf eine bewegte Geschichte zurückgeblickt werden. Im Jahr 1722 durch Nachfahren der Alten Brüder-Unität gegründet, steht die Stadt seither sprichwörtlich  »unter der Hut des Herren«. Der Ursprungsort der weltweiten Brüder-Unität, in dem jedes Jahr die Herrnhuter Losungen gezogen werden, ist bis heute lebendiges Erbe und lässt seine jahrhundertealte Geschichte an verschiedenen Einrichtungen und Sehenswürdigkeiten im Ort erleben und spüren.


Stammhaus - seit 1897


Im Stammhaus der Herrnhuter Sterne GmbH verbinden sich historische Kulisse und traditionelle Handwerkskunst. Seit dem Jahre 1897 können im Stammhaus Herrnhuter Sterne erworben werden und mit neuem Design und Konzept kombiniert es Tradition und Moderne. Ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis.
 
Besuchen Sie das Stammhaus - seit 1897:
Löbauer Straße 21 in Herrnhut: Mo - Fr 8-19 Uhr . Sa 8-12 Uhr

weitere Informationen


Völkerkundemuseum Herrnhut

Das Völkerkundemuseum  thematisiert die weltweite Missionstätigkeit der Herrnhuter Brüdergemeine. Eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Ausstellungsstücken zeigt das Leben und die Kultur in den ehemaligen Missionsgebieten
 
Besuchen Sie das Völkerkundemuseum:
Goethestraße 1 in Herrnhut: Di - So und alle Feiertage 9-17 Uhr . Mo geschlossen


zur Webseite


Heimatmuseum Herrnhut


Tauchen Sie ein in die Zeit des Biedermeier! Im Heimatmuseum finden Sie drei original erhaltene Räume dieser Zeit mit kompletter Ausstattung. Aber auch zur Ortsgeschichte und zur Geschichte der Brüdergemeine findet man viele Informationen. Ebenfalls lohnend ist der Barockgarten des Museums mit einem ungewöhnlichen Gartenhaus von 1770.
 
Besuchen Sie das Heimatmuseum:
Comeniusstraße 6 in Herrnhut: Di - Fr 9-17 Uhr . Sa-So & feiertags 10-12 & 13-17 Uhr


www.herrnhut.de


Kirchensaal & Unitätsausstellung


In Herrnhut hat die Evangelische Brüder-Unität – Herrnhuter Brüdergemeine ihren Ursprung. Entdecken Sie die Geschichte und Gegenwart dieses faszinierenden Ortes und erfahren Sie mehr über »Die Losungen – Gottes Wort für den Tag«.
 
Besuchen Sie den Kirchensaal mit Ausstellung »Von Herrnhut in die Welt«:
Zinzendorfplatz in Herrnhut:  Information zur Gegenwart: Mo - So 8-18Uhr Historischer Teil der Ausstellung: Mo - Fr 9-15 Uhr . Sa 14-16 Uhr So 10.30 - 12 Uhr


www.herrnhuter.de



Weitere Ausflugsziele in Herrnhut sind zum Beispiel der Gottesacker mit Altan, der Skulpturenpfad aber auch das Waldbad und die Minigolfanlage. Alle weiteren Information erhalten Sie in der Touristinformation Herrnhut.
 
Tourist-Information Herrnhut
Comeniusstraße 6
02747 Herrnhut
Tel.: 035873 2288
E-Mail: tourismus@herrnhut.de
 
Öffnungszeiten:
Mo 9 - 15.30 Uhr
Di - Fr 9 - 17 Uhr
Sa - So & feiertags 10 - 12 Uhr & 13 - 17 Uhr


Foto: Rene Pech
Foto: Markus Baltkow
Foto: Thomas Glaubitz

Herrnhut – ein Teil des Naturpark Zittauer Gebirge

schöne Aussichten & reich an Kultur

Das Besondere entdecken - im Naturpark Zittauer Gebirge fällt dies leicht. Inmitten urwüchsiger Natur und entlang des blauen Bandes der Mandau erstreckt sich die 1000jährige Kulturlandschaft, etwas böhmisch und etwas sächsisch mit liebenswürdigem Flair. Charakteristisch ist die Harmonie von Zittauer Gebirge, Olbersdorfer See, der Barock-Stadt Zittau und den liebenswürdigen Städten Löbau, Herrnhut, Ostritz und den idyllischen Dörfern mit den ortsbildprägenden Oberlausitzer Umgebindehäusern. 

Bei Ihrem Besuch im östlichstes Mittelgebirge Deutschlands erobern Sie die reizvolle Landschaft.


Weitere Information zu Ausflugszielen, Sehenswürdigkeiten und Hotels erhalten Sie im Tourismuszentrum Naturpark Zittauer Gebirge
 
Tourismuszentrum Naturpark Zittauer Gebirge
Markt 1 
02763 Zittau
 
Tel: +49 (0) 3583 - 752-200
tourismuszentrum@zittauer-gebirge.com


 
Öffnungszeiten:
Mo - Fr 9 - 18Uhr
Sa 9-13Uhr
So (Mai - Oktober) 10-12 Uhr